Gandiva Archery Range | Unleashing the Hawkeye in Me…

Since childhood, I’m always fascinated with movies, cartoons and other shows using bow and arrow. It seems so simple, yet it’s not as easy as you think. It needs upper body strength, mind and eye coordination. I don’t want to sound like a pro, so I’ll just blog my first attempt on the archery range.

2013-04-13 11.06.14

After years of considering playing archery, I finally got the drive to do so. Gandiva Café Archery Range is located at the 7th floor of One Corporate Center, Julia Vargas Avenue corner MERALCO Avenue, Ortigas Center, Pasig City. It’s a 20 to 25 minute walk from SM Megamall. Just follow J. Vargas on the side of Philippine Stock Exchange. Gandiva, facing Meralco Avenue is located on the left side of the elevators. It can be easily recognized since the range is covered with glass see-through walls.

Facing Gandiva, the first door you will reach will take you right inside the range while the left most door will lead you to the the vegetarian café. They serve a lot in their menu but I haven’t tried anything though.

2013-04-13 11.18.24

Back to archery, the busy days of the range is during weekends. As much as possible you have to reserve your slot to make sure you will not end up just a spectator. As for me, I didn’t reserve a slot prior to going. It was just with divine providence that we, including some other walk-in archers’ wannabe were accommodated. It just so happen that we arrived at the range few minutes after it opened and most of the reservations are after lunch time. The range is not big. I think it has only some 10 lanes with 18 meters each length. No, as beginners, we were only trained as far as ten meters. Hoping someday I’d get to 18.

2013-04-13 12.30.45

The training coaches’ are accommodating. They’ll teach you the basics of archery, how to hold the bow and how to load the arrow properly, the right posture and the correct way to pull and release the string. They are always keeping an eye on you and correcting every error you will commit. It’s really fun pulling those strings and aiming at your target face. My first few shots during the start are going out of the black circle, but during my second up to last set, I am already aiming at the right target. I actually hit the yellow circle area four times. The other one is really near the bull’s eye. I felt an adrenaline rush. I was so delighted that I was able to nearly hit the center of the target face considering I am newbie. Way to go…

901528_4777591202127_339603201_o  2013-04-13 12.24.52   906576_4777589642088_857419878_o

One hour of fun in the range will cost you Php600.00 and that includes the range fee, the equipment’s rental and training coach to assist you, plus another Php30.00 for your own target face. Of course as time goes and as you are learning, the cost may be reduced when you no longer need an instructor.

IMG_20130413_174119   IMG_20130504_114325

For more information, you can visit their website at http://www.gandiva.com.ph/archery.html

You can also check on their Facebook page here.

Image from Gandiva Archery Range Facebook Page

Image from Gandiva Archery Range Facebook Page

Categories: Sports, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Gandiva Archery Range | Unleashing the Hawkeye in Me…

  1. hello. nagbebenta din ba kyo ng compound bow? bibili sana ko pang hunting purpose. salamaaaat

    Like

  2. Melissa Matias

    My 13 yr. old son is interested in your archery class this summer, any advice csn you give?

    Like

  3. Melissa Matias

    My 13 yr. old son is interested in yourarchery class thi summer, any advice you can give?

    Like

  4. Hey dude, I’m also inspired trying this because of Arrow 🙂 Madami ba tao jan palagi? Thank you, nice blog 🙂

    Like

  5. It’s been my dream to be an archer since i was a kid.I’m also a blogger so i trust your guts on this one.Gonna try this for sure.I guess i need to write more to earn money then ahahha….. :)oh by the way thanks for blogging this one I booked mark it.

    Like

  6. Sophia Shang

    Do you know any Archery Training Schools in Q.C.?
    I’m inspired to learn Archery since I watched Hunger Games and Arrow 🙂

    Like

  7. glad to know there’s a place like this in the metro 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.